Interstate sunset

Sunset over I-95

This is outside of my New Providence radius, and it’s blurry and grainy and unprofessional, but it’s still New Jersey and I like it.

I wouldn’t want to live in the Meadowlands, but it’s interesting to watch the quiet stalemate between man and nature. It’s a very industrial area, since it’s right outside of New York City, but it’s very swampy and impossible to really develop. There are wide swaths of swampgrass and rivers and wildflowers, peppered with abandoned factories and smokestacks here and there. Most days, I see snowy egrets hanging out by the railroad tracks.

Every day when I take the train into Manhattan, I get to see some variation of this scene. I still think this area, where I-95 splits around the Hackensack River, is one of the most beautiful parts.

Leave a comment