This beautiful state

Painters at Batsto Lake (10/26/12)

A month before Hurricane Sandy, I said:

Hey! I’ve got all these vacation days I need to use before the end of the year! What shall I do with them?

I decided:

I know! I’ll take a bunch of day trips around New Jersey!

I’ve lived in NJ my whole life, and I’ve barely seen a fraction of what this state has to offer! Heck, I’ve only ventured south of Sea Girt, what, three times?

And with all the photos I take on these expeditions, I’ll turn ‘New Providence Daily Photo’ into ‘New Jersey Daily Photo!’ Won’t that be great!

So during the week and a half before Hurricane Sandy, I enthusiastically climbed Barnegat Lighthouse on Long Beach Island, hiked around High Point State Park, and toured the Pine Barrens during cranberry season.

And then New Jersey was decimated by a hurricane.

So I might not be doing a lot more of that.

In the meantime, I am bursting at the seams with Jersey Pride, and I’ve stockpiled a bunch of tourist-y photos (like the one above) that I never got to show you guys.

Batsto Lake, part of Historic Batsto Village in the Pine Barrens, attracts local painters. (See, I have photographic evidence.)

Leave a Reply

