How do we recover?

Stop light at Third Avenue and Kingsley Street, Asbury Park, N

I wasn’t really raised with a volunteering ethos, but this stupid hurricane hit so close to my home, and I’m so lucky that I’m okay… I want to help my fellow New Jerseyans! 😦

 

I am not personally endorsing anything here.
But here’s what I’ve scoped out so far:

 

  1. Red Cross doesn’t need clothing donations, and I’m apparently useless without any sort of disaster-relief skill set. But I can register to take a class, so that when the NEXT hurricane hits this area (and there will surely be a next one), I’ll be ready.

     

  2. Here are some Facebook pages that have been providing up-to-date news on the disaster, what’s happening, where efforts are needed:

     

  3. Other suggestions how to get involved, physically:

     

  4. Suggestions how to get involved, monetarily:

 

 

Do you know anything else? Leave a comment! I’ve never done anything like this before, and I don’t know the first thing about disaster relief!

 

2 Comments to “How do we recover?”

  1. I grew up on Abbott Avenue as a fifth generation Ocen Grover. I was a Southender. I sang in the Auditorium. I sang in the Boardwalk Pavillion. My first job was at Day’s Reastaurant. My relatives built that original pavillion. It’s still God’s Square Mile to me. Despite the storm it isn’t what you lost or what you have, what matters most is the love you feel for having been blessed to be a part of such a special place for a time.

    • Well said, Joseph.

      I’d say I’m sorry for your loss, but you seem to be more at peace with the situation than I am, and I’m not even a real Ocean Grover.

      Thank you for the words of encouragement— I think we can all use some of that.

Leave a Reply

