Great egret!

What a great egret! No really.

This is a great egret! No, really, it’s a Great Egret. At first I thought it was a snowy egret, but it looked kind of big. I was right! (It happens sometimes.)

I was also proud of myself for not overexposing the egret. Every time I’ve tried to take pictures of white birds, the scene overexposes, because exposure is taken from the AVERAGE of all tones in the frame. Since most of the frame is really dark, the camera is like “WHOAAAAA this is DAAAAARK I can’t see anything! OMG let’s brighten this up so we can see it!!!” and in so doing, the poor white bird, a tiny speck in the camera’s eye, is considered too insignificant for the camera to even CONSIDER, so it gets brightened up with the rest of the frame.

I spot-metered this time (so the camera’s exposure was only based on the average exposure within a tiny central spot, instead of the average exposure of the entire huge frame), and I think it came out okay. Hey photographers: is that how I’m s’posed to handle this situation?

Confession: this was photographed way outside of New Providence, because I’ve made it a current goal to see and photograph as much of New Jersey as possible, because why not. Are ya’ll okay with this?

6 Comments to “Great egret!”

  1. What a striking contrast of the great egret against the dark backgound – well done

  2. Not that I am any more advanced than you, but I do believe spot-metering is the proper way to handle that, and this shot came out very nicely. Striking is a good word for it.

    I have wanted to be able to adjust metering method (as well as other settings which in my mind ought to be simpler to achieve than they are), but I have not had a sufficiently telepathic camera to do my bidding. Maybe one day, when they have a direct neural hookup.

    • Your neural hookup camera reminds me— dpreview had a bit on “what would your dream camera be?” and someone replied, “my eyes, with aperture control.” I could go for that; I tend to be pretty slow on the draw with my camera, and fiddling with all the little sub-level functions doesn’t help.

      Wouldn’t it be cool if neural cameras happened in our lifetime? 🙂

      (Also thank you for your positive words!)

Leave a Reply

