The leaves, they are a-changing

Another leaf macro, ho hum

I love autumn, but it really snuck up on us this year. One week, we were blasting air conditioning, and the next week we were snuggling into sweaters. The leaves, too, have been green green green, then a hint of yellow, then BAM! LEAF RAINBOW OUT OF NOWHERE. It’s pretty terrific.

Oh and by the way this is New Providence Daily Photo’s second birthday (and 731st post). Woohoo, two years, hooray for New Jersey.

As I reevaluate what I’m doing with this blog, and as I struggle to improve my photography (and my blogging etiquette), I want to make sure I post a few things that you want to see, in addition to pursuing my own weirdly unappealing photodocumentarian vision.

So: is there any particular type of photo or post you’d like to see more of? Landscapes, macros, stories of people and festivals, historic buildings, wildlife, charming local landmarks? Do you generally enjoy the stuff I post? If not, what could I do better? If so, what do you like?

2 Comments to “The leaves, they are a-changing”

  1. I’m digging the assault of autumn colors this week, your photos included. I love this time of year, it’s just too bad it’s all so fleeting. Rage, rage against the falling of the leaves! (Or at least, take lots of cool photos of them before they’re gone.)

    I think your blog has a pretty good mix of photos. The landscapes are nice, but my personal favorites are the local landmarks, historic buildings, the little factoid type of stuff: how you shot Salt Creek in both its concrete ditch and natural little-forest-river settings; that exploration of the old railroad tracks you went on, etc. But I’m just into that kinda stuff I guess.

    • And on the bright side, the leaves do come back next year! Like Christmas, or Fourth of July fireworks. 😉

      I’m into that kinda stuff, too. It’s the little local cultural things that make this place New Jersey and not, say, Ohio. I’m personally not crazy about this particular photo, because these leaves could’ve been photographed ANYWHERE in the WORLD. Lame.

      I’m having trouble finding new local-landmark spots that I haven’t already researched/ hunted down/ written up, though. I may need to extend my self-imposed 10-mile radius from New Providence, and see what’s available elsewhere; I’m thinking of encompassing all of NJ (or at least northern/central Jersey with occasional trips south). You’re a Summit resident, right? How far could you go and still feel “local?”

      Thank you very much for your comment, Matthew; it’ll help guide my selections and writeups for future posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

