Giant swallowtail

Giant swallowtail butterfly!

As far as I can tell, this brown/black butterfly with yellow spots (or “bands,” or “stripes”) is a Giant swallowtail butterfly.

…I didn’t realize until I started processing the photo that it’s missing a significant chunk of its left wing tail. Guess that’s why it stayed still and posed for my camera for so long.

2 Comments to “Giant swallowtail”

  1. This reminds me that I saw a dragonfly with its wings in tatters not too long ago. Sitting on a rose bush near my front door as I was finishing up with mowing the lawn. By the time I got my camera, it was gone. It didn’t seem particularly wounded when it was in motion. I still think dragonflies might just damage their wings in the normal course of maneuvering.

Leave a Reply

