Feast of OLMC – 2: The Oyster Shucker

Shucking oysters!

Continuing with the Feast of Our Lady of Mount Carmel.

Let me tell you: a skillful oyster shucker is MESMERIZING. He grabs an oyster, shuck shuck shucks, casually tosses the empty shell into a waiting pot, and repeats, and repeats, and repeats. See that white blur by his hip? That’s an oyster shell in midair.

I snapped a few candid shots of this gentleman before he noticed me. He was an excellent sport, and okay with me continuing, but I caught him off-guard.

Hey photographers— do you have a technique for taking photos of strangers? I usually snap first, smile and ask permission after they catch me. Is there a better way?

Leave a Reply

