The abandoned Rahway Valley Railroad: Part 2

At the top of the embankment... a service road. Not a rail in sight!

As I mentioned yesterday, the Rahway Valley Railroad operated only between Summit and Roselle Park, connecting the Morris & Essex Line to the Raritan Valley Line. It was formed in 1904 and finally closed in 1992 after a long decline.

Rahway Valley Railroad, shown in context of modern NJTransit lines

Morris & Essex in green; Raritan Valley in orange; Rahway Valley (defunct) in pink

But there are still remnants of it lying about.

Although the majority of those remnants (in Summit, anyway) are secured behind fences with daunting “NO TRESPASSING” signs, I did find an unofficial entrance near the Summit chapter of the Knights of Columbus. But after climbing to the top of the embankment (which I was SO SURE must have been for the railroad), all I found was a maintenance road, as seen in the top photo. No rail tracks, and it’s probably too curvy to be repaved tracks.

According to an old map, that area apparently used to be a quarry.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After I got home and compared aerial photos to an old map of the region, I discovered that apparently I’d been walking all over the former railroad at the base of the embankment. If there are any tracks still there, they’re apparently either buried or so far off the beaten path as to be invisible.

 

—–

For more information (and for where I got my sources), here are some links:

Cunningham, J.T.* (October 1950). “New Jersey’s Streak o’ Rust.” Trains Magazine. http://trainsarefun.com/rvrr/streakofrust.htm.

King, R.J. (2009). “Rahway Valley Railroad History.” Trains are Fun {personal website}. http://trainsarefun.com/rvrr/rvrrhistory.htm#pass%20history and (to a lesser extent) http://www.trainsarefun.com/rvrr/rvrr.htm.

Wikipedia. (2012, last edit). “Rahway Valley Railroad.” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rahway_Valley_Railroad.

—–

 

(This is part 2 in a series of posts on the Rahway Valley Railroad. Click here for Part 1, or click here for Part 3.)

11 Responses to “The abandoned Rahway Valley Railroad: Part 2”

  1. Could not see the video for some reason, only an ad for college.
    I grew up in Springfiled and so did dad and his dad. So we all saw that train (RVRR) running thru town for years.
    Dad even had the opportunity to move the diesel #16 a few feet back during the 1980 US open.
    I wish I remember the Baltusrol station but I dont. Dad does though.

  2. Stunning quest there. What happened after? Take care!

  3. I’ve learn a few excellent stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how much effort you place to make the sort of fantastic informative site.

  4. I like the helpful info you provide for your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I am moderately sure I’ll learn many new stuff proper right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

  5. Wonderful post however , I was wondering if you could write
    a litte more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Kudos!

  6. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative.
    I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate
    if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

  7. Good information. Lucky me I found your blog by
    chance (stumbleupon). I have saved it for later!

  8. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for magnificent information I was looking for this info for my mission.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

