A Jersey legend

Front page news

You may have heard that singer Whitney Houston died yesterday. While I’m no great biographer, she was a New Jersey native and kind of a local, born in Newark and raised in East Orange (both of which I pass through every day on my way to New York, and both of which are 7-10 miles from here, as the crow flies).

Houston was the only artist to chart seven consecutive No. 1 Billboard Hot 100 hits (including “Saving All My Love for You“, “Greatest Love of All“, “I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me)“, and “Where Do Broken Hearts Go“). Later, “I Will Always Love You” became the best-selling single by a female artist in music history. (Also, “It’s Not Right but It’s Okay” is something that I’ve actually heard regularly in the past 10 years; I don’t know if it won any awards, but everything else I’ve mentioned here is pretty much from the 80s.)

She had a lot of other notable achievements, too, and of course some drug troubles; you can read through her Wikipedia article for more information (or find a newspaper or biography).

One Comment to “A Jersey legend”

  1. This is an amazing image for this story. This is the image that I will always see in my minds eye when I think of Whitney Houston – thank you.

Leave a Reply

