I’m lichen this

I'm lichen this.

Oh I love a good fungus pun. Actually, it’s a terrible fungus pun, because these aren’t lichens at all— as far as I can tell, they’re bracket fungi growing on a dead log.

Bracket fungi can apparently be identified by their shelf-like, sometimes-ruffled fans, which are called “conks!” I never knew that’s what a conk was. “Conk” is actually a syllable in my surname, so… I dunno, maybe that explains my inexplicable fascination with fungi. IT’S GENETIC. I’m descended from a fungus.

3 Responses to “I’m lichen this”

  1. Lovely picture, and worthy pun.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

