Roses are white

Roses are white, violets are too

I can’t believe I haven’t posted a rose photo on this blog yet! Well, there’s a first time for everything.

4 Responses to “Roses are white”

  1. Cool photo! Nicely captured ring of anthers! What’s the bulbous thing in the middle? (All the pictures of “generic flower anatomy” show a bulbous ovary at the base of a skinny, stigma-tipped style. Can you tell at all that I know nothing about flowers and just looked up a few words so I could respond with slightly more than “Cool photo!”?)

    • Based on my research from Wikipedia, I believe the bulbous thing is a superior ovary. Or multiple superior ovaries. (Based on this and this.)

      Could you tell that, before posting the photo and its accompanying two-sentence description, I actually scoured Wikipedia for 20 minutes before giving up and realizing there was no way I’d be able to identify this species or say anything intelligent about roses?

      Sometimes, a pretty flower is just a pretty flower, and that’s all there is to it.

  2. I love this photo, as I’ve never seen a rose photo like that. 🙂 Wonderful! And I did not know flowers had ovaries. Seriously not educated on such things. 🙂

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

