Country clubbin’

Maplewood Country Club

The predecessor of the Maplewood Country Club [website] was the Maplewood Field Club.

Maplewood Field Club, c.1910

This photo was taken around 1910.

I… it… it seems like a nice place to go. I don’t know much about country clubs. I’ve never been invited to one. My impression is that you go and play billiards or golf or something, and you wear fancy polo shirts, and have fancy catered dinner parties where you can talk to all your other country club friends.

Are you a member of a country club? Don’t hesitate to tell me what goes on in there.

 

Reference:

Durand-Hedden House and Garden Association. (1998). Images of America: Maplewood. Arcadia Publishing: Charleston, SC. ISBN 0752412795.

2 Comments to “Country clubbin’”

  1. Like you I know very little about country clubs and that comes from the film Trading Places. Must be a little exclusive with around 400 members, on second thoughts I noticed this rule… d) Do not litter. Put all waste in receptacles. Not sure I would want to be a member of anywhere that has to tell members to not litter! I am a member of a private members library, not quite the same there are no tennis courts. Paul at Leeds in Yorkshire daily photography

Leave a Reply

