Old town hall 2!

Hall of the town!

Millburn’s Town Hall was built in 1912.

Millburn Town Hall, date unknown (1930s?)

It is still there.

Y’know, sometimes I just don’t have much to say about these things.

 

Reference:

Lampe, O.W. (1999, 2000). Images of America: Millburn. Arcadia Publishing: Charleston, SC. ISBN 0738504130.



 

 

EDIT, UPDATE: So there was this 5.8 earthquake in Virginia today, which you probably felt if you were anywhere between North Carolina and Rhode Island. I mean, we felt it all the way north up here! I was at work at the time. My manager suddenly stopped and looked at me and asked, “Do you feel that?”

I paused and concurred that she wasn’t imagining things. The floor was rocking!

I figured it was overzealous roof construction.

Then the rest of the office started jabbering, and then the everlasting “temporary” wall in front of my desk started visibly waving around. We decided to evacuate.

After we got to the sidewalk, we saw that OTHER people had evacuated from THEIR buildings, too— it wasn’t just us. There was lots and lots of smartphone checking before someone finally figured it out.

So I’m sure this is old hat for anyone who’s lived in California, but I’ve never felt an earthquake before! A real, honest-to-goodness earthquake! That was pretty exciting.

Leave a Reply

