Maplewood station!

Maplewood train station!

The Maplewood train station was built in 1902. The photo below shows it when it was less than three years old, complete with a horse and buggy in front.

Maplewood station, c. 1904

Prior to that (from 1860-1902), the Maplewood train depot was a few blocks away and looked like this:

Maplewood station, 1860-1902

New Jersey Transit approved a contract to renovate the station in 1997, which included the establishment of Maplewood Concierge Company.

…Y’know, the other day, I was listening to an NPR piece on autism, and they mentioned that autistic people often have a fascination with public transportation. Like trains. Sometimes I wonder about myself.

 

Reference:

DeMasters, K. (1997). “In brief; Maplewood commuters to get concierge service.” The New York Times. http://www.nytimes.com/1997/10/26/nyregion/in-brief-maplewood-commuters-to-get-concierge-service.html.

Durand-Hedden House and Garden Association. (1998). Images of America: Maplewood. Arcadia Publishing: Charleston, SC. ISBN 0752412795.

6 Responses to “Maplewood station!”

  1. I LIVED IN MAPLEWOOD AND LOVED IT SO MUCH!!!!! IT IS TRULY MY HOME IN MY HEART FOREVER. I HAVE DREAMS IM BACK THERE AND THE DREAMS ARE SO VIVID. IM SO HAPPY, PEACEFULL AND I FEEL I BELONG. WHEN I WAKE I REALLY HAVE THE FEELING THROUGH ME THAT I WAS HOME. I MISS IT SO. I MISS MY FAMILY, FRIENDS AND MY HOMETOWN SO MUCH. SOME DAY ILL GO BACK AND BRING THE” ME” I LEFT BEHIND THERE SO LONG AGO. CHRISS (DOWLING) TUMAX. I LIVED ON VALLEY STREET. I LONG TO GO HOME♥

  2. ♥ IT IS SO HARD SOMETIMES TO REALIZE THAT I AM GETTING OLDER AND SO MUCH FARTHER AWAY FROM MY CHILDHOOD. A TIME IN MY LIFE WHERE MY ♥TRUE HEART♥ LIES SLEEPING WAITING FOR MY RETURN. SO MUCH IS WRAPPED UP (LIKE IN A TREASURE BOX) IN MY TIME THERE IN PRECIOUS MAPLEWOOD. A TIME WHEN I WAS WITH MY FAMILY, PETS, IN OUR COZY HOME ON VALLEY STREET ACROSS FROM THE COUNTRY CLUB. WHEN I COULD SAY “DADDY?” AND HE WOULD ANSWER. (I HAVE TROUBLE REMEMBERING HIS VOICE). TO SEE MY MOM IN THE KITCHEN ON THE PHONE WITH HER TEA OUR DOG. ME AND MY YOUNGER BROTHER GLENN IN THE LIVINGROOM WATCHING TV. MY OLDER SISTER JAN DUE TO COME HOME FROM WORK AT THE MAPLEWOOD MOVIE THEATER. THE SOUND OF THE DOG BARKING WHEN MY DAD WOULD COME HOME AND ME SAYIN “DADDYS HOME!” OUR BIG TREE OUT FRONT AND WATCHIN THE CARS GO BY. ALL THE SEASONS WERE SOMEHOW MORE BEAUTIFULL THERE. SO QUAINT. THE VILLAGE AND THE TRAIN STATION. WOW! I COULD WALK DOWN MEMORY LANE THERE ALL NIGHT. IN MY DREAMS, ESPECIALLY AROUND THIS TIME OF YEAR…ODDLY I DREAM OF MY FAMILY BACK HOME. ITS LIKE GODS* GIFT TO ME. I LOVE MY FAMILY AND IM EVER SO GRATEFULL THAT I EVEN HAVE MEMORIES LIKE I DO TO SHARE. I WISH EVERYONE COULD BE THAT BLESSED TO HAVE MEMORIES LIKE I DO ♥ LOVE TO ALL.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

