What goes ’round… stays ’round

I'm ready for my close-up!

The round-roofed building that used to be the Fanwood post office, Fanwood library, and local Red Cross center… is still standing! The 1897 building is now used as an English Chiropractic office [hours]. The current tenants have added some stars above the windows.

Aaaaand here it is from across the street (with a phone wire Photoshopped out).

And— I know you’ve seen this photo like three times in three days, so bear with me— here it is in 1897, right after it was built.

Ye old round-roofed Fanwood Library/ Post office/ etc.

It stands maybe half a block from the current Fanwood Memorial Library.

I think it’s kind of neat! But I have low standards, so what do I know.

 

Reference:

Bousquet, R. and Bousquet, S. (1995). Images of America: Scotch Plains and Fanwood. Arcadia Publishing: Dover, NH. ISBN 0738563188.

9 Responses to “What goes ’round… stays ’round”

  1. Neato. The projecting bow bay is similar to the typical canted bays of toll house building types that project toward a toll road/turnpike. Perhaps the architect was deliberately or subconsciously referencing that design concept of a building type that demanded to be paid attention and grab the passing public off the street (despite the fact that it sits well within its plot—but the projection does appear to be at a corner, so there).

    • I don’t believe either Martine Ave. nor North Ave. were ever toll roads, but I have no proof for this. There were a lot of old, public/municipal buildings built on Martine, and saying “hey, if you want to come to this church, you need to pay a toll” seems like a good reason to find a different church. As for North, I don’t know. It actually looks like a pretty good candidate.

      So there *may* be some merit to what you say. Maybe the architect was like, “this postal service is dumb. When it falls apart, they can use this building as a tollhouse.”

      • I think you misunderstood my comment. I meant that the design was like a tollhouse, not that it was or ever had been a tollhouse, or that the nearby roads were toll roads (mostly because this is turn of the century and the tollhouse architecture I was referencing is 18th and early 19th C in the UK). I just meant that the architect was referencing this common building typology. That the intention was to create a building that grabbed people off the street / forced them to pay heed.

    • I think I saw the words “toll house” and got excited. And realized I didn’t have anything to say about toll houses, so I made something up about specific toll roads. Sorry.

  2. Well maybe it is not as efficient as the current post office building, but it does have some style!

  3. Love odd shaped rooms. This one looks a little out of scale with the rest of the building – and that roof certainly provides lots of shade!

  4. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web
    address and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to checking out your web page again.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

