Speedwells!

Speedy!

So these tiny blue flowers were growing in a grassy field by the Salt Brook, and I was calling them “bluebells,” but apparently bluebells are something else entirely. However, after a little digging (thank Gawd for the internet), I have decided that they are SPEEDWELLS.

I don’t know the precise species, because the speedwell genus, Veronica, “is the largest genus in the flowering plant family Plantaginaceae, with about 500 species” (according to Wikipedia), and all 500 look pretty much the same to me.

One Comment to “Speedwells!”

  1. Yes I think they look like the speedwell. I too have trouble identifying with the many varieties that there are. Although small I have always loved this flower and as a boy we lived for some years opposite Speedwell Street in Oxford and had them in our garden. Paul at Leeds daily photo

Leave a Reply

