Jaycees II

Not safe for skating!

When I visited Jaycees Park, I was in search of a nice paved pathway. I love fitness skating, but I’m not very good at it, so I need a long and reasonably smooth stretch of pavement that’s out of traffic’s way. I had a few old standby paths when I lived further south (Joe Palaia Park, Thompson Park, Sandy Hook Bike Path), but I have yet to find anything up here.

Jaycees Park is probably great for runners, bikers, and dog-walkers, but it is just not safe for skaters. (Not uncoordinated skaters like me, anyway.) Not only has the path not been repaved in years (and so it’s fairly torn-up in places), but it’s very narrow, and much of it skims right along the storm drain/ditch here. There are areas where the path leads you right to the ditch.

I ended up doing laps around the community pool parking lot (which is where you park your car for Jaycees Park) for half an hour. It was epically unexciting, but the pavement was butter-smooth.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

